Winners of Derby City Sport Awards announced

Derby Sports Awards 2015

Tue 13 Oct 2015

The winners of the 2015 Derby Sports Awards have been announced at a presentation that took place last night at Derby Arena. The awards celebrated a number of great achievements by Derby athletes and coaches.

This year Derby Sports Awards received many nominations that recognised the outstanding achievements of sportspeople in Derby from a range of different sporting backgrounds. Each year the judging process is becoming more difficult as the depth of talent in Derby continues to develop and excel.

Councillor Martin Rawson, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Communities and City Centre Regeneration, said:

“On behalf of Derby City Council I would like to congratulate all the winners for their fantastic achievements and the inspiration that they provide. I would also like to wish them the best of luck as they are nominated for the countywide awards that take place later this year.”

Awards were handed to winners across 14 categories. Derby City Council is excited to announce this year’s award winners:

Award Winner
Active4Life Barry Hawksworth
Club of the Year Derby County Ladies FC
Community Award Leon Taylor
Disabled Sportsperson of the Year Lewis White
Junior Sportsperson of the Year Scarlett  Williams
Junior Team of the Year Noel Baker School Basketball Team
Lifetime Achievement Award Clarence Wiggins (posthumously)
Manager/Coach of the Year Donna Kellogg
Sportsman of the Year  Adam Peaty
Sportswoman of the Year Sarah Vasey
Team of the Year Team Derby National Badminton League Team
Volunteer of the Year Sam James
Young Sportsman of the Year Bradley Moore
Young Sportswoman of the Year Eleanor Baldwin

Leon Taylor winner of the Community Award, said

“I’m delighted to receive this award, it is important to me to raise awareness in communities about the opportunities that are available to people, to enable them to realise their potential.”

All of the award winners will be put forward for the Derbyshire Sport Awards which take place on 12 November.