Success for Derby Arena cyclists at national cycling event

Thu 21 Jul 2016

A group of cyclists who regularly train at Derby Arena took part in the British Cycling National Masters Track Championships 2016 that took place on the 1 – 3 July. The event was held at the Wales National Velodrome in Newport.

The Masters is well known amateur cycling event with winners earning a prestigious national jersey. There are various age categories and race types in the event. Age categories range from 30 to 75+; races are split between endurance and sprint events with various distances depending on the category.

24 of the riders from Derby Arena were placed in their event and several took the top spot earning them a national jersey. A national jersey can be worn with pride by the cyclist for a year following their win. The jerseys are widely recognised and acknowledged in cycling circles.

The riders from Derby Arena train at the track 3 or 4 times a week, some are from Derby others are further afield, travelling as far as 60 miles across the East and West Midlands. 

Phil Kilpatrick, who is the Head Track Cycle Coach at Derby Arena said “the feedback from the riders has been fantastic, they feel that they benefitted hugely from the coaching and facilities we offer here at Derby Arena which is great.”

Graham Truelove who won silver in his pursuit race said “The Derby team and facility were really helpful in the riders success and without their contributions we would not have been anywhere near as successful. We had a rider on the podium in every age group and this shows the benefit the Arena has had on the riders who train there.”

Congratulations top everyone who took part. Here are our winners:

• Oliver Hambrey - silver in the scratch and points in the 30-34 age category
• Dave Smith Silver in Sprint in the 35 – 39 age category
• Roderick Hopkins Derby Mercury RC Bronze in Sprint 35-39 age category
• Damon Hague Gold in the Time trial, silver in Sprint.
• David Ellis bronze in the Scratch
• Philip Houlton gold in Sprint & Time Trial (TT).
• Chris Pyatt silver in Sprint and Scratch, bronze in TT
• Steve Clayton Bronze in Pursuit
• Mike Twelves gold in Points & Bronze in Scratch
• Steve Cronshaw Gold in TT and Sprint
• Mark Minting bronze in TT
• John Manning bronze in TT, Silver in Pursuit, Gold in Scratch and Points
• Graham Truelove silver in Pursuit
• Geoff Cooke Gold in TT, Sprint, Silver in Scratch
• Michael Allen Silver in Pursuit, Bronze in Scratch
• Robert Richards Gold in Pursuit
• Derrick Woodings Gold in Scratch & Points
• Mike Garvey Bronze in Scratch and Sprint
• Melanie Dobbins Silver in TT & Sprint
• Lisa Morgan Bronze in Pursuit
• Julie Cooper Gold in TT & Sprint
• Debbie Capewell Silver in TT, Gold in Sprint, Bronze in Scratch
• Tracey Jeffery Bronze in Sprint
• Karen Brooks Gold in TT, Silver in Pursuit

Check out our track cycling pages if you would like more information on taster sessions, accreditation or track league.