Holiday activities

Child on Derby Arena track

There are loads of activities planned for you at Derby Arena during the school holidays.

There is no need to be bored in school holidays, we have something for everyone to take part in! 

Half price racket sports

Book a tables tennis or badminton court for half price.

Sessions available between the hours of 8am and 4pm every Monday to Friday throughout the holidays (excluding 25 August) subject to availability.

To book call Derby Arena on 01332 640011.

Family Track Cycling sessions - one hour session

Come with your family and try a track cycling session at Derby Arena. You don't need any experience, our qualified coaches will provide advice and the correct equipment for your family to enjoy this fantastic sport.

Age range: 9 years and over, please wear trainers.

Mon 31 Jul 9:30am - 10:30am
Mon 7 Aug 9:30am - 10:30am
Mon 14 Aug 9:30am - 10:30am
Mon 21 Aug 9:30am - 10:30am
Mon 28 Aug 9:30am - 10:30am

Cost:

  • One adult and one child £20
  • One adult and two children £31 
  • Two adults and two children £42
  • Two adults and 1 child £36.50
  • Two adults and 3 children £46.20

Youth Beginner Track Cycling sessions - 1 hour session

These sessions are designed for young people aged 9 to 15 years. You don't need any experience, but be able to ride a bike. Our qualified coaches will provide advice and the correct equipment for to enjoy this fantastic sport. No specialist equipment required, we provide the bike, shoes and helmet (Smallest shoe is size 4, if you're smaller than this size please wear trainers).

Youth Fast Track Accreditation 

We will be running a fast track accreditation course for youth riders. You can find more details about the session and how to sign up on our fast track accreditation page.

Date: Tue 15 Aug, 10am - 2pm

Cost: £60

Go Spike Volleyball

Jump to the roof, wipe and kong block, join the Darkstar Volley team for a fantastic coaching session. Suitable for children aged 11 to 16 years.

Thu 3 Aug 6pm - 9pm
Tue 8 Aug 6pm - 9pm
Thu 10 Aug 6pm - 9pm
Tue 15 Aug 6pm - 9pm
Tue 22 Aug 6pm - 9pm
Thu 24 Aug 6pm - 9pm
Tue 29 Aug 6pm - 9pm
Thu 31 Aug 6pm - 9pm

Cost: £3

Cheerleading

Give me a D,E,R,B,Y and try cheerleading! All abilities welcome. Learn low-level stunt technique, small jump and dance sequences. It's recommended to attend all three sessions as skills will be built throughout, however it's not compulsory. 7 to 16 years.

Wed 2 Aug 2pm - 3pm
Thu 17 Aug 2pm - 3pm
Thu 31 Aug 2pm - 3pm

Cost: £3

Street Dance

It will be a modern twist on old school funk to your favourite current songs. For 7 to 16 year olds.

Dates: Fri 11 and Tue 22 Aug, 2pm - 3pm

Cost: £3

Learn to Ride

For children who are getting onto two wheels for the first time or those who have tried to ride and now quite got there! 50 minute lesson.

Mon 31 Jul 9am - 3:30pm
Tue 1 Aug 9am - 3:30pm
Tue 8 Aug 9am - 3:30pm
Wed 9 Aug 9am - 3:30pm
Thu 24 Aug 9am - 3:30pm
Fri 25 Aug 9am - 3:30pm

Cost: £15

To book call 01332 641747 or email cyclederby@derby.gov.uk

Track Day

Morning session inside on the track and afternoon session building outside skills. For children aged 9 to 16 years.

Fri 4 Aug 10am - 3pm
Fri 11 Aug 10am - 3pm
Mon 21 Aug 10am - 3pm

Cost: £25

To book call 01332 641747 or email cyclederby@derby.gov.uk

Movement gym

If you are aged 11 to 16 years, why not join The Movement and get fit the fun way in the gym for just £1.10.

Movement gym will be available times listed below.

Monday, Wednesday and Friday 2.30pm to 5.30pm
Tuesday and Thursday 3.30pm to 5.30pm
Saturday 9.00am to 11.30am
Sunday 2.00pm to 6.00pm

Forms will require parent consent. 
Session cost : £1.10